No mods are working.

Forum rules
BEFORE YOU POST...

Remember that all mods available here REQUIRE Spore: Galactic Adventures AND patch 5.1. Patch 6\Bot Parts does NOT include Patch 5.1! (Some may work on other setups, but this is recommended)

Can't get a mod to work? Feel free to ask for help, there's always someone around to help out. Just make sure to include the following information:
a) Did you install Spore from Steam, Origin, or a Disk?
b) Is your game patched to the latest version?
c) Do you have Galactic Adventures?
d) If so, is it also patched to the latest version?
e) Where did you install the mod to?
f) What is the file's current name in the folder you installed it to?
This information is needed for us to help you!
ZeGamingCuber
Recruit
Recruit
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 7:42 pm

No mods are working.

Unread postby ZeGamingCuber » Tue Jan 30, 2018 8:08 pm

So I copied spore from Steam to Origin so I could download mods but they're not working. I put them in the right directory so they should work. I have them in (OS)C:/Program Files (x86)/Origin Games/Spore Galactic Adventures/Data.

User avatar
rob55rod
Tech Support
Tech Support
Sergeant Major of the Davo Army
Sergeant Major of the Davo Army
Posts: 3869
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 9:50 am
Location: Zelem's Nexus, rebuilding.

Re: No mods are working.

Unread postby rob55rod » Tue Jan 30, 2018 9:21 pm

When creating a new thread, please post it in the appropriate subforum. You seem to have a problem related to various mods not working, so it baffles me as to why you would create a thread about this in the subforum dedicated to mods Davo has made. I've moved this one for you.

Anywaves, try installing mods with the ModAPI Easy Installer: https://sporemodder.wordpress.com/spore-modapi/
Let me know if that gets you anywhere.
Having trouble with the Spore ModAPI Launcher Kit? Let us know here!

If you're reading this, you have my permission to build off of my mods as long as I am credited. Please don't mirror my work unaltered, unless I no longer provide a working download.

ZeGamingCuber
Recruit
Recruit
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 7:42 pm

Re: No mods are working.

Unread postby ZeGamingCuber » Wed Jan 31, 2018 7:26 pm

The easy installer says "The mod "<ModName>" could not be installed. The process cannot access the file 'C:\Program Files (x86)\Origin Games\Spore Galactic Adventures\Data\<ModName>.package ' as it is being used by another process." Edit: nvm I just had them in the folder they would be installed into

ZeGamingCuber
Recruit
Recruit
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 7:42 pm

Re: No mods are working.

Unread postby ZeGamingCuber » Wed Jan 31, 2018 7:41 pm

Still the mods do not woek

User avatar
rob55rod
Tech Support
Tech Support
Sergeant Major of the Davo Army
Sergeant Major of the Davo Army
Posts: 3869
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 9:50 am
Location: Zelem's Nexus, rebuilding.

Re: No mods are working.

Unread postby rob55rod » Thu Feb 01, 2018 6:24 am

ZeGamingCuber wrote:Still the mods do not woek

Close the game, run the Easy Installer as Administrator. Does that change anything?
Having trouble with the Spore ModAPI Launcher Kit? Let us know here!

If you're reading this, you have my permission to build off of my mods as long as I am credited. Please don't mirror my work unaltered, unless I no longer provide a working download.

ZeGamingCuber
Recruit
Recruit
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 7:42 pm

Re: No mods are working.

Unread postby ZeGamingCuber » Thu Feb 01, 2018 3:29 pm

Nope they still don't work. maybe it's because I'm on a higher or lower version than 1.5.1 and am unable to patch to 1.5.1 because it says I don't have spore when I try to patch it?

User avatar
rob55rod
Tech Support
Tech Support
Sergeant Major of the Davo Army
Sergeant Major of the Davo Army
Posts: 3869
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 9:50 am
Location: Zelem's Nexus, rebuilding.

Re: No mods are working.

Unread postby rob55rod » Thu Feb 01, 2018 4:33 pm

ZeGamingCuber wrote:Nope they still don't work. maybe it's because I'm on a higher or lower version than 1.5.1 and am unable to patch to 1.5.1 because it says I don't have spore when I try to patch it?

If you just switched to Origin, you'd have 1.7, which is less than optimal, but atleast for mods which have been updated recently, such as Dark Injection, it should be fine.

My guess is that during the transition from Steam to Origin, some of the registry information wasn't updated, leading to the game reading from the old Steam folders instead of the new Origin ones. Try transferring all of your mods to the previous location. Let me know if that helps.

Also, you do realize that migrating from Steam to Origin doesn't even help with mod compatibility anymore, right?
Having trouble with the Spore ModAPI Launcher Kit? Let us know here!

If you're reading this, you have my permission to build off of my mods as long as I am credited. Please don't mirror my work unaltered, unless I no longer provide a working download.

ZeGamingCuber
Recruit
Recruit
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 7:42 pm

Re: No mods are working.

Unread postby ZeGamingCuber » Thu Feb 01, 2018 5:59 pm

rob55rod wrote:
ZeGamingCuber wrote:Nope they still don't work. maybe it's because I'm on a higher or lower version than 1.5.1 and am unable to patch to 1.5.1 because it says I don't have spore when I try to patch it?

If you just switched to Origin, you'd have 1.7, which is less than optimal, but atleast for mods which have been updated recently, such as Dark Injection, it should be fine.

My guess is that during the transition from Steam to Origin, some of the registry information wasn't updated, leading to the game reading from the old Steam folders instead of the new Origin ones. Try transferring all of your mods to the previous location. Let me know if that helps.

Also, you do realize that migrating from Steam to Origin doesn't even help with mod compatibility anymore, right?


Yes that seems to have fixed it, at least the 3D Cell Editor.

User avatar
rob55rod
Tech Support
Tech Support
Sergeant Major of the Davo Army
Sergeant Major of the Davo Army
Posts: 3869
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 9:50 am
Location: Zelem's Nexus, rebuilding.

Re: No mods are working.

Unread postby rob55rod » Fri Feb 02, 2018 8:08 am

ZeGamingCuber wrote:
rob55rod wrote:
ZeGamingCuber wrote:Nope they still don't work. maybe it's because I'm on a higher or lower version than 1.5.1 and am unable to patch to 1.5.1 because it says I don't have spore when I try to patch it?

If you just switched to Origin, you'd have 1.7, which is less than optimal, but atleast for mods which have been updated recently, such as Dark Injection, it should be fine.

My guess is that during the transition from Steam to Origin, some of the registry information wasn't updated, leading to the game reading from the old Steam folders instead of the new Origin ones. Try transferring all of your mods to the previous location. Let me know if that helps.

Also, you do realize that migrating from Steam to Origin doesn't even help with mod compatibility anymore, right?


Yes that seems to have fixed it, at least the 3D Cell Editor.

Alright, let me know if anything is still having problems.
Having trouble with the Spore ModAPI Launcher Kit? Let us know here!

If you're reading this, you have my permission to build off of my mods as long as I am credited. Please don't mirror my work unaltered, unless I no longer provide a working download.

ZeGamingCuber
Recruit
Recruit
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 7:42 pm

Re: No mods are working.

Unread postby ZeGamingCuber » Fri Feb 02, 2018 3:07 pm

rob55rod wrote:
ZeGamingCuber wrote:
rob55rod wrote:If you just switched to Origin, you'd have 1.7, which is less than optimal, but atleast for mods which have been updated recently, such as Dark Injection, it should be fine.

My guess is that during the transition from Steam to Origin, some of the registry information wasn't updated, leading to the game reading from the old Steam folders instead of the new Origin ones. Try transferring all of your mods to the previous location. Let me know if that helps.

Also, you do realize that migrating from Steam to Origin doesn't even help with mod compatibility anymore, right?


Yes that seems to have fixed it, at least the 3D Cell Editor.

Alright, let me know if anything is still having problems.

yes I just realized that whenever I try to enter the creature stage, the game crashes.

User avatar
rob55rod
Tech Support
Tech Support
Sergeant Major of the Davo Army
Sergeant Major of the Davo Army
Posts: 3869
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 9:50 am
Location: Zelem's Nexus, rebuilding.

Re: No mods are working.

Unread postby rob55rod » Fri Feb 02, 2018 3:12 pm

ZeGamingCuber wrote:
rob55rod wrote:
ZeGamingCuber wrote:
Yes that seems to have fixed it, at least the 3D Cell Editor.

Alright, let me know if anything is still having problems.

yes I just realized that whenever I try to enter the creature stage, the game crashes.

...try uninstalling that Cell Editor mod.
Having trouble with the Spore ModAPI Launcher Kit? Let us know here!

If you're reading this, you have my permission to build off of my mods as long as I am credited. Please don't mirror my work unaltered, unless I no longer provide a working download.


Return to “Mod Help”