12-24-2020
Due to an unexpected database update fail, the forum had to undergo a reset to an August backup. This sadly means all new user registations and content posted between 08-08-2020 and 12-24-2020 has been wiped. We apologize for the inconvenience and have taken measures to prevent this error from happening in the future.

12-26-2020
Interested in a moderator position? Speak with Rob55Rod or Darhagonable on my personal Discord server or the official Spore Modding Community Discord server.

Error

Download tools like Sporemaster and get the latest patches.
User avatar
LinkER324
Hatchling
Hatchling
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2017 1:01 pm

Error

Unread post by LinkER324 »

Hey guys! Sorry if I post this in a wrong thread. I'm registered a few hours ago. And sorry if I'm too late to ask about Spore. I hope you have a nice day. But I have a horrible one. :x Here's why:
When I made my very first mod, and I wanted to pack it with SporeMaster, an error popped up:
System.Exception: Error packing file 'spacetools~\Colonyplus.prop.xml'.-->
System.FormatException: Input string was not in a correct format.
at System.Number.StringToNumber(String str, NumberStyles options,
NumberBuffer& number, NumberFormatInfo info, Boolean parseDecimal)
at System.Number.ParseSingle(String value, NumberStyles options,
NumberFormatInfo numfmt)
at System.Single.Parse(String s, NumberStyles style, NumberFormatInfo info)
at Gibbed.Spore.Properties.FloadProperty.ReadXML(XmlReader input)
at Gibbed.Spore.Properties.PropertyFile.ReadXML(XmlReader reader)
at SporeMaster.PackagePack..ctor(Stream output, String sourceFolder,
PleaseWait progress)
--- End of inner exception stack trace ---
at SporeMaster.PackagePack..ctor(Stream output, String souceFolder,
PleaseWait progress)
at
SporeMaster.MainWindow.<>c_DisplayClassa. <Pack_Mod_Click>b_9(PleaseWait progress)
at SporeMaster.PleaseWait.<>c_DisplayClass4. <.ctor>b_2()
:?: :?:

I don't have an image file. What can be the problem? I know, it says 'Input string was not in a correct format.' But I double checked everything, and everything was fine. Even if I modify an unmodified file (e.g. someone other's), this error pops up. But sometimes, if I modify another file (e.g. creatureabilities\superpower_carnivore.prop.xml), it works.


User avatar
rob55rod
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4070
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 9:50 am

Re: Error

Unread post by rob55rod »

Can you...post the contents of the affected file?
Having trouble with the Spore ModAPI Launcher Kit? Get help here!

If you're reading this, you have my permission to build off of my mods as long as I am credited. Please don't mirror my work unaltered, unless I no longer provide a working download.
User avatar
LinkER324
Hatchling
Hatchling
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2017 1:01 pm

Re: Error

Unread post by LinkER324 »

Spoiler
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<properties>
<string16 name="description">Place Happiness Booster</string16>
<key name="parent" groupid="spacetools~" instanceid="tooltemplate" typeid="prop" />
<int32 name="spaceToolAmmoUsedPerShot">1</int32>
<int32 name="spaceToolBuyCost">1</int32>
<key name="spaceToolContext" instanceid="planet" />
<texts name="spaceToolDescription">
<text>Colonyplus</text>
<text tableid="spacegame_tools" instanceid="#56CD9990">Happiness Booster</text>
</texts>
<texts name="spaceToolDetailDescription">
<text>Colony placement all over</text>
<text tableid="spacegame_tools" instanceid="#69B97931">Place on a planet to keep the planet's inhabitants happy.</text>
</texts>
<bool name="spaceToolDisableOn201Ruins">false</bool>
<bool name="spaceToolDisableOnHomeworld">false</bool>
<bool name="spaceToolDisableOnSaveGames">false</bool>
<key name="spaceToolImageID" groupid="ufotools~" instanceid="plus" typeid="png" />
<int32 name="spaceToolInitialAmmoCount">5</int32>
<texts name="spaceToolLockedDescription">
<text tableid="spacegame_tools" instanceid="ufobadgereqteitemiclaim_dawn_duclealpharoll2">Requires ~commodity_requirements~</text>
</texts>
<int32 name="spaceToolMaxAmmoCount">150</int32>
<float name="spaceToolMaxRange">3000</float>
<key name="spaceToolPanelKey" instanceid="colonize_panel_bottom~" />
<float name="spaceToolRechargeRate">0.1</float>
<key name="spaceToolStrategy" instanceid="placecolony" />
<key name="spaceToolType" instanceid="special" />
<bool name="spaceToolUsesAmmo">true</bool>
<bool name="toolDeselectsAfterUse">false</bool>
<bool name="toolDoActionPostEffect">true</bool>
<key name="toolHitGroundEffectID" instanceid="#B1B27D9B" />
<bool name="toolHitOrientsToTerrain">true</bool>
<key name="toolHitWaterEffectID" instanceid="#B1B27D9B" />
<int32 name="toolMeaningOfLifeRewardCount">0</int32>
<key name="toolMuzzleEffectID" instanceid="#DD085901" />
<bool name="toolOnlyOnPlayerColonies">false</bool>
<key name="toolPlacedModelKey" instanceid="#100EA097" />
<bool name="toolPreventsPlanetExit">true</bool>
<key name="toolProjectileEffectID" instanceid="#23D7D504" />
<float name="toolProjectileExplosionExpansionRate">5000</float>
<bool name="toolProjectilePassThrough">true</bool>
<float name="toolProjectileSpeed">1</float>
<float name="toolProjectileTimeOut">5150</float>
<int32s name="toolTargetFlags">
<int32>-1685158353</int32>
</int32s>
<texts name="toolTargetFlagsFailMessage">
<text tableid="spacegame_tools" instanceid="#FDD8CC2A">You must choose a valid ground target to use this tool.</text>
</texts>
<bool name="#06DF688D">true</bool>
</properties>
User avatar
LinkER324
Hatchling
Hatchling
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2017 1:01 pm

Re: Error

Unread post by LinkER324 »

Okay, found the problem. My system uses the "," decimal character, not the "." decimal character in the file. Great.
Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Tools & Patches”