Hut Editor Mod Concept

Talk about mods... NOW!
Forum rules
Can't get a mod to work?
Try these... FIRST!

http://www.davoonline.com/phpBB3/viewforum.php?f=6
User avatar
CamBen
Tech Support
Tech Support
Command Sergeant Major
Command Sergeant Major
Posts: 1353
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2011 5:26 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Hut Editor Mod Concept

Unread postby CamBen » Sun Jul 13, 2014 5:24 pm

Just gonna leave this here....

The huts can't be used in-game, sadly.
Spore is creative, even the mods and hacks.
Or, should I say, especially the mods and hacks?

Now currently making content for the Life is Strange and Portal communities. Check me out on YouTube

User avatar
GBAura
Sergeant First Class
Sergeant First Class
Posts: 247
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 7:24 am
Location: In a blackhole
Contact:

Re: Hut Editor Mod Concept

Unread postby GBAura » Mon Jul 14, 2014 9:20 am

Neat, now if only we can create a mod that includes the Cake Editor.

I kid, I kid.
Image

Ripper of Spore: Unofficial Galactic Score and... that's about it.

Meaningless Quote:

"Raggedy Ann scares me!"

User avatar
rob55rod
Tech Support
Tech Support
Sergeant Major of the Davo Army
Sergeant Major of the Davo Army
Posts: 3821
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 9:50 am
Location: Zelem's Nexus, rebuilding.

Re: Hut Editor Mod Concept

Unread postby rob55rod » Mon Jul 14, 2014 12:49 pm

Watching that video made my mind effectively do this:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o37UT-7L9Ms
(sorry but the [youtube] wasn't working)
Also, If those are saved as a standard type of building (House, Entertainment, Factory, City Hall), then I have an idea how to make them usable. A while back someone made a mod that added the tabs from all 3 planners into all 3 planners. Vehicles were, naturally, nonfunctional in Tribe stage, but buildings worked fine in tribe. Adding a building tab from the city or colony planner into the village planner would allow the huts to be placed in tribe game! They wouldn't really do anything, but useless custom huts in-game are arguably better than no custom huts in-game, am I right?
Having trouble with the Spore ModAPI Launcher Kit? Let us know here!

If you're reading this, you have my permission to build off of my mods as long as I am credited. Please don't mirror my work unaltered, unless I no longer provide a working download.

User avatar
CamBen
Tech Support
Tech Support
Command Sergeant Major
Command Sergeant Major
Posts: 1353
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2011 5:26 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Hut Editor Mod Concept

Unread postby CamBen » Mon Jul 14, 2014 7:02 pm

rob55rod wrote:Watching that video made my mind effectively do this:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o37UT-7L9Ms
(sorry but the [youtube] wasn't working)
Also, If those are saved as a standard type of building (House, Entertainment, Factory, City Hall), then I have an idea how to make them usable. A while back someone made a mod that added the tabs from all 3 planners into all 3 planners. Vehicles were, naturally, nonfunctional in Tribe stage, but buildings worked fine in tribe. Adding a building tab from the city or colony planner into the village planner would allow the huts to be placed in tribe game! They wouldn't really do anything, but useless custom huts in-game are arguably better than no custom huts in-game, am I right?

that's a pretty funny remix :P

I think that the huts can only be saved as creatures, or else their color will be plain white.
Spore is creative, even the mods and hacks.
Or, should I say, especially the mods and hacks?

Now currently making content for the Life is Strange and Portal communities. Check me out on YouTube

User avatar
rob55rod
Tech Support
Tech Support
Sergeant Major of the Davo Army
Sergeant Major of the Davo Army
Posts: 3821
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 9:50 am
Location: Zelem's Nexus, rebuilding.

Re: Hut Editor Mod Concept

Unread postby rob55rod » Tue Jul 15, 2014 8:54 am

Camßεn wrote:
rob55rod wrote:Watching that video made my mind effectively do this:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o37UT-7L9Ms
(sorry but the [youtube] wasn't working)
Also, If those are saved as a standard type of building (House, Entertainment, Factory, City Hall), then I have an idea how to make them usable. A while back someone made a mod that added the tabs from all 3 planners into all 3 planners. Vehicles were, naturally, nonfunctional in Tribe stage, but buildings worked fine in tribe. Adding a building tab from the city or colony planner into the village planner would allow the huts to be placed in tribe game! They wouldn't really do anything, but useless custom huts in-game are arguably better than no custom huts in-game, am I right?

that's a pretty funny remix :P

I think that the huts can only be saved as creatures, or else their color will be plain white.

CREATURES!?! That was unexpected. Okay, nvm. Wait...ColladaExport, create mesh.xml with this: http://www.davoonline.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=118&t=5209&p=20172#p20180 in mind, reimport, create decoration...see where I'm going with this?
Having trouble with the Spore ModAPI Launcher Kit? Let us know here!

If you're reading this, you have my permission to build off of my mods as long as I am credited. Please don't mirror my work unaltered, unless I no longer provide a working download.

User avatar
CamBen
Tech Support
Tech Support
Command Sergeant Major
Command Sergeant Major
Posts: 1353
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2011 5:26 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Hut Editor Mod Concept

Unread postby CamBen » Tue Jul 15, 2014 9:14 am

Yes, but that wouldn't work either, seeing as custom models don't retain their textures after being packed in.
Spore is creative, even the mods and hacks.
Or, should I say, especially the mods and hacks?

Now currently making content for the Life is Strange and Portal communities. Check me out on YouTube

User avatar
Davo
The Boss
The Boss
Sergeant Major of the Davo Army
Sergeant Major of the Davo Army
Posts: 2181
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 1:36 am
Location: NOLA
Contact:

Re: Hut Editor Mod Concept

Unread postby Davo » Tue Jul 15, 2014 7:12 pm

i was recently working on this too. except my idea was leaning on how the city wall mod works.
a hut modifier if anything.

i spent alot of time but i think i got way too lost into thing and confused.
i dont know how to label anything in sporemaster and with my lack of time, i often give up after the fist attempt,
but it may be a good challenge for someone else.
i truly think that is possible.

i think much is possible between the tribe/civil planners

i can get model to work in the tribal planner, similar to civic objects, but cannot place them in game, ah, if only we had real software...
Support my Site via Adf.ly : View the Ad or Skip the Ad


User avatar
CamBen
Tech Support
Tech Support
Command Sergeant Major
Command Sergeant Major
Posts: 1353
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2011 5:26 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Hut Editor Mod Concept

Unread postby CamBen » Tue Jul 15, 2014 9:54 pm

I've gotten a hut switcher concept to "work", meaning I put the hut styles in but upon dragging them in they did nothing. :/
Spore is creative, even the mods and hacks.
Or, should I say, especially the mods and hacks?

Now currently making content for the Life is Strange and Portal communities. Check me out on YouTube

User avatar
Emd4600 [ASR]
Tech Support
Tech Support
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major
Posts: 620
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 6:21 am
Location: Sporepedia2's City, Spain
Contact:

Re: Hut Editor Mod Concept

Unread postby Emd4600 [ASR] » Wed Jul 16, 2014 3:16 am

Camßεn wrote:Yes, but that wouldn't work either, seeing as custom models don't retain their textures after being packed in.

Try to get the hut texture and model with 3d Ripper DX, so you can put it as a normal part as rob said.

Camßεn wrote:I've gotten a hut switcher concept to "work", meaning I put the hut styles in but upon dragging them in they did nothing. :/

Yeah, I did it too and it didn't work.
The same for adding new tools. It seem they have an unique id and we can't assign new ones.

Davo wrote:i was recently working on this too. except my idea was leaning on how the city wall mod works.
a hut modifier if anything.

i spent alot of time but i think i got way too lost into thing and confused.
i dont know how to label anything in sporemaster and with my lack of time, i often give up after the fist attempt,
but it may be a good challenge for someone else.
i truly think that is possible.

i think much is possible between the tribe/civil planners
.

The city wall mod creates a new category (as if it was a creature editor palette) and it puts the styles on it. Dragging them changes the styles.
Sadly this can't be done in tribe stage.
Image
Image


Return to “Mod Discussion”