12-24-2020
Due to an unexpected database update fail, the forum had to undergo a reset to an August backup. This sadly means all new user registations and content posted between 08-08-2020 and 12-24-2020 has been wiped. We apologize for the inconvenience and have taken measures to prevent this error from happening in the future.

12-26-2020
Interested in a moderator position? Speak with Rob55Rod or Darhagonable on my personal Discord server or the official Spore Modding Community Discord server.

Patch and animation problems

Forum rules
BEFORE YOU POST...

Remember that mods you download that are created by Davo REQUIRE Spore: Galactic Adventures and REQUIRE your game to be installed & patched in this order.
  • - Install Spore Game
  • - (OPTIONAL) Install Spore C&C
  • - Install Spore Galactic Adventures
  • - Patch Spore and Spore Galactic Adventures to 1.5.1
If you have any further questions, feel free to ask.
User avatar
rob55rod
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4070
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 9:50 am

Re: Patch and animation problems

Unread post by rob55rod »

grandrice wrote:
rob55rod wrote:
grandrice wrote: Because right above the thread it says:
What the...

Okay, hold on, let me fix that.

So origin is doing it's usually thing of breaking sh*t whenever possible.
It says I can't install C&c until spore is uninstalled.
I have never, ever heardd that before, I would rather not reinstall spore again, is this true?
Well no, that's never been true.

Then again, C&C includes patch 2...

...you just installed patch 5.1...

...why is this stuff so inconsistent? >.<


Having trouble with the Spore ModAPI Launcher Kit? Get help here!

If you're reading this, you have my permission to build off of my mods as long as I am credited. Please don't mirror my work unaltered, unless I no longer provide a working download.
User avatar
grandrice
Sentient
Sentient
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 7:17 am

Re: Patch and animation problems

Unread post by grandrice »

rob55rod wrote:
grandrice wrote:
rob55rod wrote: What the...

Okay, hold on, let me fix that.

So origin is doing it's usually thing of breaking sh*t whenever possible.
It says I can't install C&c until spore is uninstalled.
I have never, ever heardd that before, I would rather not reinstall spore again, is this true?
Well no, that's never been true.

Then again, C&C includes patch 2...

...you just installed patch 5.1...

...why is this stuff so inconsistent? >.<
SO what do I do?
New and Awesome Space tools Mod: Adds incredibly powerful tools to the space game: viewtopic.php?f=123&t=5589&p=24221#p24221
User avatar
grandrice
Sentient
Sentient
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 7:17 am

Re: Patch and animation problems

Unread post by grandrice »

Ok,I miss read majorly. It says I must uninstall spore before UNINSTALLING c&c. It's not installed though. What now?
cant I just put BoosterPack_01.package somewhere to install it?
New and Awesome Space tools Mod: Adds incredibly powerful tools to the space game: viewtopic.php?f=123&t=5589&p=24221#p24221
User avatar
grandrice
Sentient
Sentient
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 7:17 am

Re: Patch and animation problems

Unread post by grandrice »

grandrice wrote:Ok,I miss read majorly. It says I must uninstall spore before UNINSTALLING c&c. It's not installed though. What now?
cant I just put BoosterPack_01.package somewhere to install it?
nevermind, another registry needed to be deleted.
New and Awesome Space tools Mod: Adds incredibly powerful tools to the space game: viewtopic.php?f=123&t=5589&p=24221#p24221
User avatar
grandrice
Sentient
Sentient
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 7:17 am

Re: Patch and animation problems

Unread post by grandrice »

C&c not installing successfully. Where do I put BoosterPack_01?
New and Awesome Space tools Mod: Adds incredibly powerful tools to the space game: viewtopic.php?f=123&t=5589&p=24221#p24221
User avatar
rob55rod
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4070
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 9:50 am

Re: Patch and animation problems

Unread post by rob55rod »

grandrice wrote:C&c not installing successfully. Where do I put BoosterPack_01?
Core Spore data folder, probably

Code: Select all

C:\Program Files (x86)\Origin Games\Spore\Data
Having trouble with the Spore ModAPI Launcher Kit? Get help here!

If you're reading this, you have my permission to build off of my mods as long as I am credited. Please don't mirror my work unaltered, unless I no longer provide a working download.
User avatar
grandrice
Sentient
Sentient
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 7:17 am

Re: Patch and animation problems

Unread post by grandrice »

Spore GA is not installing. The Licence Agreement comes up blank and then it says the installation failed.
New and Awesome Space tools Mod: Adds incredibly powerful tools to the space game: viewtopic.php?f=123&t=5589&p=24221#p24221
User avatar
grandrice
Sentient
Sentient
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 7:17 am

Re: Patch and animation problems

Unread post by grandrice »

GA installed. Same animation bug, same patc bug. Origin installer is actually worse at installing games than a potato.
New and Awesome Space tools Mod: Adds incredibly powerful tools to the space game: viewtopic.php?f=123&t=5589&p=24221#p24221
User avatar
grandrice
Sentient
Sentient
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 7:17 am

Re: Patch and animation problems

Unread post by grandrice »

Ok, I've narrowed down the problem to GA. With spore and C&C, all things run properly. However, I noticed that when I was updating to patch 1.5, it tried updating GA, even though it wasn't installed. Ga doesn't install anymore, which I think is related to the patcher thinking it was. I deleted GA's Installshield Instructions folder, and that's usually the cause of things thinking it still exists. I searched on my computer and the only traces of GA are in sporemaster unpacked files. Any ideas?
New and Awesome Space tools Mod: Adds incredibly powerful tools to the space game: viewtopic.php?f=123&t=5589&p=24221#p24221
User avatar
rob55rod
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4070
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 9:50 am

Re: Patch and animation problems

Unread post by rob55rod »

grandrice wrote:Ok, I've narrowed down the problem to GA. With spore and C&C, all things run properly. However, I noticed that when I was updating to patch 1.5, it tried updating GA, even though it wasn't installed. Ga doesn't install anymore, which I think is related to the patcher thinking it was. I deleted GA's Installshield Instructions folder, and that's usually the cause of things thinking it still exists. I searched on my computer and the only traces of GA are in sporemaster unpacked files. Any ideas?
Uhh...idk...

EDIT: Did you try copying the Core Spore packages to your GA data folder?
Having trouble with the Spore ModAPI Launcher Kit? Get help here!

If you're reading this, you have my permission to build off of my mods as long as I am credited. Please don't mirror my work unaltered, unless I no longer provide a working download.
User avatar
grandrice
Sentient
Sentient
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 7:17 am

Re: Patch and animation problems

Unread post by grandrice »

rob55rod wrote:
grandrice wrote:Ok, I've narrowed down the problem to GA. With spore and C&C, all things run properly. However, I noticed that when I was updating to patch 1.5, it tried updating GA, even though it wasn't installed. Ga doesn't install anymore, which I think is related to the patcher thinking it was. I deleted GA's Installshield Instructions folder, and that's usually the cause of things thinking it still exists. I searched on my computer and the only traces of GA are in sporemaster unpacked files. Any ideas?
Uhh...idk...

EDIT: Did you try copying the Core Spore packages to your GA data folder?
No I fixed it
Everything is working great.
Holy sht that was an ordeal.
I might put up a tutorial later of how to download spore through origin, but right now I'm really exhausted. I recommend staying away from origin if possible for everyone.
New and Awesome Space tools Mod: Adds incredibly powerful tools to the space game: viewtopic.php?f=123&t=5589&p=24221#p24221
User avatar
rob55rod
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4070
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 9:50 am

Re: Patch and animation problems

Unread post by rob55rod »

grandrice wrote:
rob55rod wrote:
grandrice wrote:Ok, I've narrowed down the problem to GA. With spore and C&C, all things run properly. However, I noticed that when I was updating to patch 1.5, it tried updating GA, even though it wasn't installed. Ga doesn't install anymore, which I think is related to the patcher thinking it was. I deleted GA's Installshield Instructions folder, and that's usually the cause of things thinking it still exists. I searched on my computer and the only traces of GA are in sporemaster unpacked files. Any ideas?
Uhh...idk...

EDIT: Did you try copying the Core Spore packages to your GA data folder?
No I fixed it
Everything is working great.
Holy sht that was an ordeal.
I might put up a tutorial later of how to download spore through origin, but right now I'm really exhausted. I recommend staying away from origin if possible for everyone.
k

Well I'm not going to recommend Steam over Origin, and apparently nobody but myself buys retail anymore.
Having trouble with the Spore ModAPI Launcher Kit? Get help here!

If you're reading this, you have my permission to build off of my mods as long as I am credited. Please don't mirror my work unaltered, unless I no longer provide a working download.
User avatar
grandrice
Sentient
Sentient
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 7:17 am

Re: Patch and animation problems

Unread post by grandrice »

rob55rod wrote:
grandrice wrote:
rob55rod wrote: Uhh...idk...

EDIT: Did you try copying the Core Spore packages to your GA data folder?
No I fixed it
Everything is working great.
Holy sht that was an ordeal.
I might put up a tutorial later of how to download spore through origin, but right now I'm really exhausted. I recommend staying away from origin if possible for everyone.
k

Well I'm not going to recommend Steam over Origin, and apparently nobody but myself buys retail anymore.
I recommend Retail if possible, but sometimes Origin is just unavoidable.
New and Awesome Space tools Mod: Adds incredibly powerful tools to the space game: viewtopic.php?f=123&t=5589&p=24221#p24221
User avatar
rob55rod
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4070
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 9:50 am

Re: Patch and animation problems

Unread post by rob55rod »

grandrice wrote:
rob55rod wrote:
grandrice wrote: No I fixed it
Everything is working great.
Holy sht that was an ordeal.
I might put up a tutorial later of how to download spore through origin, but right now I'm really exhausted. I recommend staying away from origin if possible for everyone.
k

Well I'm not going to recommend Steam over Origin, and apparently nobody but myself buys retail anymore.
I recommend Retail if possible, but sometimes Origin is just unavoidable.
Yeah. Retail is ideal in terms of reliability. But Origin wins in convenience (no disk required) and availability (it's free if you have Steam Spore). Steam Spore wins in price tag and loses in literally everything else. I wish they'd just pull it and replace it with an Origin Spore redirect or something -_-
Having trouble with the Spore ModAPI Launcher Kit? Get help here!

If you're reading this, you have my permission to build off of my mods as long as I am credited. Please don't mirror my work unaltered, unless I no longer provide a working download.
User avatar
grandrice
Sentient
Sentient
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 7:17 am

Re: Patch and animation problems

Unread post by grandrice »

rob55rod wrote:
grandrice wrote:
rob55rod wrote: k

Well I'm not going to recommend Steam over Origin, and apparently nobody but myself buys retail anymore.
I recommend Retail if possible, but sometimes Origin is just unavoidable.
Yeah. Retail is ideal in terms of reliability. But Origin wins in convenience (no disk required) and availability (it's free if you have Steam Spore). Steam Spore wins in price tag and loses in literally everything else. I wish they'd just pull it and replace it with an Origin Spore redirect or something -_-
But steam is simply click download and your good. Origin, you have to manually do a ton of stuff, and move files around, etc. It's terrible. Steam is the best if you don't plan on modding.
New and Awesome Space tools Mod: Adds incredibly powerful tools to the space game: viewtopic.php?f=123&t=5589&p=24221#p24221
User avatar
rob55rod
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4070
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 9:50 am

Re: Patch and animation problems

Unread post by rob55rod »

grandrice wrote:
rob55rod wrote:
grandrice wrote: I recommend Retail if possible, but sometimes Origin is just unavoidable.
Yeah. Retail is ideal in terms of reliability. But Origin wins in convenience (no disk required) and availability (it's free if you have Steam Spore). Steam Spore wins in price tag and loses in literally everything else. I wish they'd just pull it and replace it with an Origin Spore redirect or something -_-
But steam is simply click download and your good. Origin, you have to manually do a ton of stuff, and move files around, etc. It's terrible. Steam is the best if you don't plan on modding.
Or patching the game. Or sharing creations. Or logging in. Or playing the game. Or making stuff. Or generating new save data on Windows 8 or newer. Or opening the game. Because yes, Steam Spore has issues with all of those in some cases. Installing is literally the only part of it which works reliably.

(The Windows 8+ save data regeneration issue isn't Steam Spore-exclusive, Steam just makes it harder to get around)
Having trouble with the Spore ModAPI Launcher Kit? Get help here!

If you're reading this, you have my permission to build off of my mods as long as I am credited. Please don't mirror my work unaltered, unless I no longer provide a working download.
Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Help”