Double layered cities

Post your mod requests/ideas here, not in with the actual mods.
NOTE: While the Spore ModAPI has empowered mod developers like never before, our ability to add "new" functionality still has its limits, so if there's nothing in Spore that can already do it, we may not be able to either. Nothing is lost in asking, but don't get your hopes up, especially not for anything really big.
Forum rules
Please keep in mind that if your request is not granted immediately, that doesn't mean it never will be. Sooner or later, someone may well pop in and try to make it happen. Patience is a virtue. Just...don't go around begging and annoying people over it.
Additionally, be aware that while the Spore ModAPI has empowered mod developers like never before, our ability to add "new" functionality still has its limits, so if there's nothing in Spore that can already do it, we may not be able to either. Nothing is lost in asking, but don't get your hopes up, especially not for anything really big.
User avatar
GIRGHGH
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 4:28 pm

Double layered cities

Unread postby GIRGHGH » Sat May 09, 2015 5:31 pm

I request a mod where if you have a building placed, you can place a building on top of it, but it would appear a distance above the first building. Is that possible? (and I don't mean it would sit on top, just above)
Image

User avatar
rob55rod
Tech Support
Tech Support
Sergeant Major of the Davo Army
Sergeant Major of the Davo Army
Posts: 3821
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 9:50 am
Location: Zelem's Nexus, rebuilding.

Re: Double layered cities

Unread postby rob55rod » Sat May 09, 2015 5:44 pm

GIRGHGH wrote:I request a mod where if you have a building placed, you can place a building on top of it, but it would appear a distance above the first building. Is that possible? (and I don't mean it would sit on top, just above)

Sadly, impossible...

...wait...cities can't have layers, but buildings can...

...if the buildings are cakes...

...CAKE EDITOR!!!!!!!!!
Having trouble with the Spore ModAPI Launcher Kit? Let us know here!

If you're reading this, you have my permission to build off of my mods as long as I am credited. Please don't mirror my work unaltered, unless I no longer provide a working download.

User avatar
CamBen
Tech Support
Tech Support
Command Sergeant Major
Command Sergeant Major
Posts: 1353
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2011 5:26 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Double layered cities

Unread postby CamBen » Sat May 09, 2015 10:24 pm

Actually this may be possible... Splitwirez maybe you could try adding city building spots with coordinates above the other ones(cause I'm not going to :P)
Spore is creative, even the mods and hacks.
Or, should I say, especially the mods and hacks?

Now currently making content for the Life is Strange and Portal communities. Check me out on YouTube

User avatar
rob55rod
Tech Support
Tech Support
Sergeant Major of the Davo Army
Sergeant Major of the Davo Army
Posts: 3821
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 9:50 am
Location: Zelem's Nexus, rebuilding.

Re: Double layered cities

Unread postby rob55rod » Sun May 10, 2015 4:36 am

Camßεn wrote:Actually this may be possible... Splitwirez maybe you could try adding city building spots with coordinates above the other ones(cause I'm not going to :P)

Never thought of that...

...IDK how to do that, though. I'll see if I can figure it out.
Having trouble with the Spore ModAPI Launcher Kit? Let us know here!

If you're reading this, you have my permission to build off of my mods as long as I am credited. Please don't mirror my work unaltered, unless I no longer provide a working download.

User avatar
GIRGHGH
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 4:28 pm

Re: Double layered cities

Unread postby GIRGHGH » Sun May 10, 2015 7:14 am

Camßεn wrote:Actually this may be possible... Splitwirez maybe you could try adding city building spots with coordinates above the other ones(cause I'm not going to :P)

That is exactly what I meant. Only, you could only unlock an upper part when the spot bellow it has a building in it. Is that possible?
Image

User avatar
rob55rod
Tech Support
Tech Support
Sergeant Major of the Davo Army
Sergeant Major of the Davo Army
Posts: 3821
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 9:50 am
Location: Zelem's Nexus, rebuilding.

Re: Double layered cities

Unread postby rob55rod » Sun May 10, 2015 7:53 am

GIRGHGH wrote:
Camßεn wrote:Actually this may be possible... Splitwirez maybe you could try adding city building spots with coordinates above the other ones(cause I'm not going to :P)

That is exactly what I meant. Only, you could only unlock an upper part when the spot bellow it has a building in it. Is that possible?

That part definitely isn't possible, though floating snap foundations might be...
Having trouble with the Spore ModAPI Launcher Kit? Let us know here!

If you're reading this, you have my permission to build off of my mods as long as I am credited. Please don't mirror my work unaltered, unless I no longer provide a working download.

User avatar
GIRGHGH
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 4:28 pm

Re: Double layered cities

Unread postby GIRGHGH » Sun May 10, 2015 4:30 pm

rob55rod wrote:
GIRGHGH wrote:
Camßεn wrote:Actually this may be possible... Splitwirez maybe you could try adding city building spots with coordinates above the other ones(cause I'm not going to :P)

That is exactly what I meant. Only, you could only unlock an upper part when the spot bellow it has a building in it. Is that possible?

That part definitely isn't possible, though floating snap foundations might be...

K thanks. Just wondering.
Image

User avatar
CamBen
Tech Support
Tech Support
Command Sergeant Major
Command Sergeant Major
Posts: 1353
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2011 5:26 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Double layered cities

Unread postby CamBen » Mon May 11, 2015 1:11 am

Actually that might be possible too. There's a really annoying to navigate file with all the coordinates of the city building spots, and then below that in the file there's a big part with a list like:
1
1
0
0
0
0
1
0
1

That appears to show which spots are connected to which, depending on if they have a 1 or a 0 for that spot.
Spore is creative, even the mods and hacks.
Or, should I say, especially the mods and hacks?

Now currently making content for the Life is Strange and Portal communities. Check me out on YouTube

User avatar
rob55rod
Tech Support
Tech Support
Sergeant Major of the Davo Army
Sergeant Major of the Davo Army
Posts: 3821
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 9:50 am
Location: Zelem's Nexus, rebuilding.

Re: Double layered cities

Unread postby rob55rod » Mon May 11, 2015 4:34 am

Camßεn wrote:Actually that might be possible too. There's a really annoying to navigate file with all the coordinates of the city building spots, and then below that in the file there's a big part with a list like:
1
1
0
0
0
0
1
0
1

That appears to show which spots are connected to which, depending on if they have a 1 or a 0 for that spot.

o...wow...

O.o
Having trouble with the Spore ModAPI Launcher Kit? Let us know here!

If you're reading this, you have my permission to build off of my mods as long as I am credited. Please don't mirror my work unaltered, unless I no longer provide a working download.


Return to “Mod Request”