12-24-2020
Due to an unexpected database update fail, the forum had to undergo a reset to an August backup. This sadly means all new user registations and content posted between 08-08-2020 and 12-24-2020 has been wiped. We apologize for the inconvenience and have taken measures to prevent this error from happening in the future.

12-26-2020
Interested in a moderator position? Speak with Rob55Rod or Darhagonable on my personal Discord server or the official Spore Modding Community Discord server.

Editing dialogue?

Forum rules
BEFORE YOU POST...

Remember that mods you download that are created by Davo REQUIRE Spore: Galactic Adventures and REQUIRE your game to be installed & patched in this order.
  • - Install Spore Game
  • - (OPTIONAL) Install Spore C&C
  • - Install Spore Galactic Adventures
  • - Patch Spore and Spore Galactic Adventures to 1.5.1
If you have any further questions, feel free to ask.
User avatar
Garo
Cell
Cell
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 4:52 am

Editing dialogue?

Unread post by Garo »

Hi everyone!

I wanted to make my own little personal mod where I change the dialogue of my own player race for fun.
So, I unpacked the locale files with Sporemaster and located the text for the dialogues but I found this:

# WARNING: This is a conversation string table. It is auto-generated.
# Any change you would do in this file will be overwritten by the script.
# If you need to modify any of the text, please modify the file with the same name under
# Data\GameplayConfig\SpaceGame\SpaceConversations\.
# That file has the same name but different (.cnv) extension.

I tried to look for this file and found the folder in Sporegame.package but none of the cnv files have the same name as the lines I want to modify.
And if I open the cnv files with either Sporemaster or an online cnv editor, then there will be a bunch of gibberish that I cannot possibly understand or modify.

So how could I go about editing the dialogues?

Thank you for the help!


User avatar
XRealX
Cell
Cell
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:32 am
Age: 19

Re: Editing dialogue?

Unread post by XRealX »

Umm, I'm not a modder so excuse me if this doesn't help at all. Have you tried editing that file with SporeModder FX or with the Spore ModAPI SDK?
User avatar
Garo
Cell
Cell
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 4:52 am

Re: Editing dialogue?

Unread post by Garo »

Hello and thank you for the reply!

I have just tried SporeModder last night and it does open the cnv files far better than Sporemaster with more details present but sadly I still cannot find the actual dialogue text that needs to be modified. I even made a search for some of the dialogue words but it cannot find it.
I might take a look with Spore ModAPI. Maybe it will show more.
User avatar
XRealX
Cell
Cell
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:32 am
Age: 19

Re: Editing dialogue?

Unread post by XRealX »

Hmmm, maybe rob55rod, emd and others can help you. Try talking with them on Discord
User avatar
Mx3
Creature
Creature
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 10:56 am
Age: 29

Re: Editing dialogue?

Unread post by Mx3 »

You're looking in the wrong place, try extracting the locale packages. The .cnv files only point to them.
User avatar
Garo
Cell
Cell
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 4:52 am

Re: Editing dialogue?

Unread post by Garo »

Do you mean everything in this path?
...Steam\steamapps\common\Spore\Data\Locale\en-us
Not just the text file but everything else?

They dont really contain anything I need. There is only a name generator and information about the UI.
I already extracted the text file but they all have that warning at the top.

# If you need to modify any of the text, please modify the file with the same name under
# Data\GameplayConfig\SpaceGame\SpaceConversations\.


They all say I have to modify something within the SporeGame package (or at least this is what I think it wants) but it contains no actual dialogue anywhere or the source of it.

Or are they trying to mislead us?
Or is this outdated information and I can just modify the dialogue by editing the locale files within Text.package?
User avatar
Mx3
Creature
Creature
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 10:56 am
Age: 29

Re: Editing dialogue?

Unread post by Mx3 »

I think that warning is only for developers, something with their tools, not for modders.
User avatar
Garo
Cell
Cell
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 4:52 am

Re: Editing dialogue?

Unread post by Garo »

Ah alright.
I shall test it out and see if it works.

Thank you for the help! I really appreciate it!
User avatar
XRealX
Cell
Cell
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:32 am
Age: 19

Re: Editing dialogue?

Unread post by XRealX »

So, did it work?

Btw, I see you're Hungarian too!

Helló!
User avatar
Garo
Cell
Cell
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 4:52 am

Re: Editing dialogue?

Unread post by Garo »

Indeed xD
Szia!

I think it did. One of my changed dialogues actually showed up.
I just didnt realize that some options that were written the same had a fix place and a fixed dialogue attached to them.
So just because I edited 'I want to ask something else...' it didnt mean it would appear everywhere it came up. It just appeared at a certain conversation.

God I feel stupid...
User avatar
XRealX
Cell
Cell
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:32 am
Age: 19

Re: Editing dialogue?

Unread post by XRealX »

#modding-discussion or #modding-research has something about exactly what you're doing: https://discord.com/channels/3681982186 ... 5549283339
You can also ask for help there. The modding gods are there (Mrs. White (Snekky), emd, rob55rod etc).
User avatar
Garo
Cell
Cell
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 4:52 am

Re: Editing dialogue?

Unread post by Garo »

Alright. Thanks!
I will make sure to check it out.
Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Help”